Calvary of Wejherowo

This unique monument of sacral architecture was founded in 1649-1655 by Jakub Wejher – the founder of Wejherowo. It consists of 26 chapels located on three hills bearing the names: Góra Oliwna, Góra Syjon and Góra Kalwaria. Together with the municipal buildings of Wejherowo and the palace-park complex, it creates a complex of great landscape and spatial values. Next to Kalwaria Zebrzydowska and Kalwaria Pakoska, it is the oldest Passion sanctuary in Poland. It is supervised by the Franciscans from Wejherowo’s St. Anne’s Convent.

The guardians of the Wejherowo Calvary, also known as the Prussian Calvary and the Kashubian Jerusalem, were the Franciscan Fathers of the Order of Friars Minor of the Closer Observance called the Reformati from their introduction to Wejherowo in 1647 until the monastery was closed in the middle of the 19th century. The president and then the first guardian of the Wejherowo monastery was Father Grzegorz Gdański OFM, who died in 1681 in the opinion of sanctity.

Discover the history of the oldest pilgrimages to the Calvary of Wejherowo

Skip to content